Bitter Sweet…….

12 08 2011

So we have reached the half way point…well just about. We have arrived here in Norman, Oklahoma where we have had 2 days rest to recover ready for the 2nd half of the trip. In 2004-2005 I studied at the University of Oklahoma here in Norman. It truly was an amazing and life changing experience. It has shaped what I have done in the past and what I will be doing in the future. I arrived in America a shy and reserved person looking to find my way in the world. The first day I arrived I met a great person, Rami Akkari, a very confident character who would go on to become my best friend and feel like family. He took me under his wing; showing me the way’s of this new American world. During our 2 days off we have been staying with Rami and partying like we used to 6 years ago. Although we haven’t seen each other in this time it’s like we saw each other last week. I have been walking around the campus and seeing the places I used to go to every day. It has been a sweet but also bitter experience. Sweet in the sense that it is great to be back with friends reliving our time here but also bitter in that I am no longer here, the 19 year old embarking on discovering a new world. I’m no longer living the American dream!!!! I did have the opportunity to stay in America and carry on my studies in 2005 but I chose to come back to the UK to create my life. Today I was questioning whether this was the right decision. I came to the conclusion that this was not a missed opportunity. If I had stayed in America I would not have started my coffee house and achieved what I have done.

I am happy and content with what I have in life. I am thankful for my supportive family, my amazing friends and my customers. I still have a lot more that I want to achieve from this life but I always knew that in embarking on this trip it would make me question what I want. I’m not saying that I will be giving everything up and moving to America. However I know deep down that someday in the future I will reopen the door and rediscover the wonders of American life.

It reminds me of a quote from How I Met Your Mother:

“You see the universe has a plan, kids. And that plan is always in motion. A butterfly flaps its wings….and it starts to rain. It’s a scary thought, but its also kinda wonderful. All these little parts of a machine constantly working, making sure you end up exactly where you’re supposed to be, exactly when you’re suppose to be there. The right place at the right time”

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 08 2011
Mike Mills

Thanks, Steve; it’s good to see such positive thinking. God bless you.

18 08 2011
stevenprime

Thanks Mike, really appreciate it

13 08 2011
Marie

Hi Steve,
I realy enjoyed to met you, and wish you all the best.
“May the wind always be at your back
and the sun upon your face.
And may the wings of destiny carry you aloft
to dance with the stares.”
See you

Leave a Reply

