I came off my bike at 20mph…………

12 03 2011

Having cycled for just over a year I have been very lucky not to come off the bike. I’ve cycled well over a thousand miles in this time and I’ve put it down to being an alert and safe cyclist……today that came to an end….

A momentary lapse of concentration saw my pedal hit the curb and I was gone. It was either fall to my right onto the tarmac or jump to the left onto the grass. My pedal smacked my shin as I dived to the left. I hit the soft grass on my shoulder, rolled over and my head and body hit a wall.

Before I got the chance to stand up a nice driver had stopped to check that I was ok. My response was “Hmmmm, I think so….nothing hurts”. I checked the bike and apart from the right brake everything was ok……So I thought shall I turn round and cycle home or shall I carry on cycling to finish the 20 mile route I had set myself……….

There is no way a few bruises would stop me…….

Thank you to the person who invented the helmet…….

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

